Artists in residence

Tailor-made residencies

Les Subs supports contemporary creation by hosting about 50 artistic teams in residence every season. Theater, dance, music, circus, visual and digital arts – in short, there’s a place for all the diversity of today’s art forms at Les Subs, and especially for aesthetic adventures that take audiences beyond their comfort zone.

Gone are the borders between visual arts and performing arts, the big stage and small theaters, indoors and outdoors, high-brow and low-brow, here and there. Open to the city and the world, Les Subs offers residences to both budding regional talents and international artists.

Residency terms are purposely variable to meet each artist’s needs and to adapt to the type of project and its stage of completion. Artistic teams come to Les Subs for a few days or several weeks to do research, experiment, finalize staging, develop a show’s lighting design, test technological devices, get advice, rehearse in optimum (or nearly optimum) conditions, and share some of the steps in their process with the public (meetings, workshops, residence excursions, and performances).

From September 2019 to March 2020, Les Subs will host as artists in residence the following regional, national, and international companies: Yannos Majestikos, Benjamin Villemagne, Raphaël Gouisset, Colyne Morange, Alexander Vantournhout, Pierre Cartonnet, Julien Lepreux, Natacha Paquignon, Cie 32 novembre, Clédat et Petitpierre, Anne-Sophie Grac, Xavier Veilhan, Stephen Thompson, Dai Jian, Dikie Istorii Company, Mathilde Gentil, Yan Duyvendak, and more!

Selection criteria

Les Subs believes in hybrid creations and unusual experiments, with no preference for any particular discipline. It develops its artistic vision in tandem and in interaction with other cultural organizations in the Lyon metropolitan area and in the region. To support the new generation of artists, Les Subs works with those who take risks and whose aesthetic processes eschew current standards. The desire for innovation is closely linked to a demand that creations be accessible to all audiences. Residencies are sometimes extended elsewhere in the region, in partnership with schools, reception centers for asylum seekers, prisons, and specialized medical-social institutions. Les Subs is committed to providing a sensitive and connected approach to art, in its relations with artistic and cultural education, citizenship, and social cohesion, and with the values of hospitality, parity, and diversity.

Residencies at Les Subs are limited to professional artists.
If you are not a professional artist, you can send us a request using this online form.
Please make sure your project is consistent with Les Subs’ artistic vision and technical resources.

A programming committee reviews applications once a month and sends responses a few days after each monthly review.

For further information, please write to us at: secretariatdedirection@les-subs.com

Artistes en résidence

Des résidences sur mesure

Les Subs soutiennent la création contemporaine en accueillant une cinquantaine d’équipes artistiques en résidence chaque saison. Théâtre, danse, musique, cirque, arts visuels et numériques… toute la diversité de la scène contemporaine a sa place aux Subs, surtout les aventures esthétiques qui bousculent nos habitudes de spectateurs.

Exit les frontières entre arts visuels et spectacle vivant, scène et salle, intérieur et extérieur, savant et populaire, ici et ailleurs. Ouvertes sur la ville et sur le monde, les Subs accueillent en résidence à la fois de jeunes talents régionaux et des artistes internationaux.

Les modalités de résidence sont volontairement variables pour s’adapter aux besoins des artistes, à la nature de leur projet et à leur niveau d’aboutissement. Des équipes artistiques viennent aux Subs quelques jours ou plusieurs semaines pour mener un travail de recherche, expérimenter, finaliser une mise en scène, créer la lumière d’un spectacle, tester des dispositifs technologiques, recueillir des conseils, répéter dans des conditions optimales (ou presque), faire partager certaines étapes de leur processus avec les publics (rencontres, ateliers, sorties de résidence, représentations).

De septembre 2019 à mars 2020, Les Subs accueillent en résidence des artistes et des compagnies régionales, nationales et internationales : Yannos Majestikos, Benjamin Villemagne, Raphaël Gouisset, Colyne Morange, Alexander Vantournhout, Pierre Cartonnet, Julien Lepreux, Natacha Paquignon, Cie 32 novembre, Clédat et Petitpierre, Anne-Sophie Grac, Xavier Veilhan, Stephen Thompson, Dai Jian, Dikie Istorii Company, Mathilde Gentil, Yan Duyvendak…

Critères de sélection

Les Subs font le pari des créations hybrides et des expériences inédites sans mettre l’accent sur une discipline plus qu’une autre. La ligne artistique se déploie en complémentarité et en interaction avec les autres structures culturelles de la métropole et de la région. Dans un objectif de renouvellement artistique, Les Subs s’impliquent auprès de créatrices et de créateurs dont la démarche comporte une prise de risque et dont les processus esthétiques s’émancipent des standards en vigueur. Cette ambition d’innovation est étroitement liée à une exigence d’accessibilité à tous les publics. Des résidences font l’objet de prolongements spécifiques sur le territoire régional en partenariat avec des écoles, des centres d’accueil, des prisons, des établissements spécialisés médicaux-sociaux. Les Subs s’engagent au quotidien pour offrir une approche sensible et connectée de l’art, dans ses relations avec l’éducation artistique et culturelle, la citoyenneté et la cohésion sociale avec des valeurs d’hospitalité, de parité et de diversité.

Les résidences aux Subs s’adressent exclusivement aux artistes professionnels.
Si c’est votre cas, vous pouvez nous adresser une demande via le formulaire en ligne.
Merci de vous assurer que votre projet est cohérent avec la ligne artistique et les possibilités techniques des Subs.

Un comité de programmation instruit les dossiers une fois par mois et transmet une réponse dans les jours qui suivent.

Pour toute précision, n’hésitez pas à nous écrire : secretariatdedirection@les-subs.com

Ils travaillent chez nous cette saison