The project

Les Subsistances is a laboratory for contemporary stage arts and an artistic platform that brings together Lyon’s diverse innovative cultural energies. Les Subsistances is many things and takes many—even hybrid—forms. What unites our myriad endeavors is our ability to provide support to project sponsors, whether they are artists themselves, or entities working in the culture sector.

Artistically

Les Subsistances hosts artists in residence, offers the public access to multiple points of view on the contemporary stage, and provides support and mediation for all audiences in innovative ways.

Our purposely popular and demanding programming reflects all contemporary art forms. This keeps us open to changes and trends in the circus, dance, and theater arts, especially because we focus specifically on supporting upcoming artists. Specializing in hybrid and pluridisciplinary art forms, Les Substances provides all audiences with experiences that are always new, in innovative support and mediation settings with complete equality among genres.

Culturally

Les Subsistances works to create synergy among the area’s various cultural innovation efforts. Our attachment to innovation of all kinds is evidenced by our cooperative spirit and willingness to share the tool we’ve been entrusted with. We work with and support other project sponsors by sharing our cultural engineering know-how.

Le projet

Les Subsistances sont un Laboratoire des scènes contemporaines et une plateforme artistique fédératrice des énergies culturelles novatrices de l’agglomération. Les Subsistances sont multiples, multiformes, et hybrides. L’unité du projet des Subsistances réside dans sa capacité à accompagner les porteurs de projets qu’ils soient artistes ou acteurs culturels.

Artistiquement

Les Subsistances sont un lieu de résidence d’artistes et donnent au public un accès à de nombreux points de vue sur la scène contemporaine. Elles proposent des dispositifs innovants d’accompagnement et de médiation pour tous les publics.
La programmation volontairement populaire et exigeante, reflète toutes les formes artistiques contemporaines, se rendant perméable aux évolutions et aux tendances dans les domaines du cirque, de la danse, du théâtre… via un soutien tout particulier aux jeunes artistes. Spécialistes des formes hybrides et pluridisciplinaires Les Subsistances proposent à tous les publics des expériences sans cesse renouvelées, sans hiérarchie de genre et dans des dispositifs d’accompagnement et de médiation innovants.

Culturellement

Les Subsistances sont un agent fédérateur des énergies d’innovation culturelles sur le territoire. Elles démontrent leur attachement à l’innovation sous toutes ses formes, leur esprit collaboratif et leur volonté de partage de l’outil qui leur est confié. Elles épaulent et accompagnent d’autres porteurs de projets par leur savoir-faire en ingénierie culturelle.