Audiences and Mediations

A place where artists can be hosted in residence and create, Les Subs is also a place where all audiences can enjoy a variety of experiences, and not just during performances. Les Subs is committed to providing a sensitive and connected approach to art in its relations with artistic and cultural education, citizenship, and social cohesion, and with the values of hospitality, parity, and diversity.

Because artistic curiosity is an adventure sparked when we are very young, Les Subs works with teachers to design projects that will help everyone think about and change today’s world through artistic encounters.

For the very young…

Neighborhood projects

In 2019-2020, Xavier Kim and groupe nuits (Astrid Mayer & Raphaël Billet) lead projects with 3 groups of middle-schoolers and 5 groups of 2nd/3rd graders in Lyon 9th, Lyon 4th, and adjoining neighborhoods, as well as in Vaulx-en-Velin, in connection with the PTEAC.

…and the not-so-young

With middle schools, high schools, & an IME (medical-educational institute)

  • With the Lycée Robert Doisneau (Vaulx-en-Velin); Les Subs is the cultural partner for teaching the circus specialty
  • With the Lycée Saint-Exupéry (Lyon 4th); a week of high school residency with Benjamin Villemagne & Raphaël Gouisset based on CGU
  • With the IME Jean-Jacques Rousseau; a cycle of choreography and sound-design research dealing with violence, in connection with Today is a beautiful day by Youness Aboulakoul
  • With 10 groups of middle-schoolers as part of the Classes Culturelles et Numériques led by Erasme, with Anne-Sophie GRAC, based on her project, Simonetta, to get the students to start questioning the changes in beauty standards in the era of social media.

+++ Several projects will be conducted with 10 partner high schools in connection with the companies in residence.

  • GACO Arts – IUT LYON 3 Training/ Hosting students in connection with the mini-dance classes during the Le MOI de la danse festival.
  • Monitoring of projects by students in pre-professional artistic training in Lyon to support the artists of tomorrow as soon as they start their training. Les Subs works in close collaboration with the ENSBA, the CNSMD, the preparatory training at the École de cirque de Lyon, and the CN D.

+++ A number of tailor-made partnerships with post-secondary schools and student associations in the greater Lyon area and the region (INSA, EAC, ISCOM, Sciences Po Lyon, Universités de Lyon, Université de Grenoble, GEM, etc.)

Because artists offer a sensitive interpretation of the world around us, meeting each other can be fertile ground for them during the highly unusual time of creation. Always in relation to the companies’ desires, Les Subs initiates projects that make this kind of connection possible.

Residencies outside Les Subs with the Fondation OVE’s specialized medical-social institutions

In 2018/2019, to examine their working themes la compagnie du Chaos and Dikie Istorii Company got as close as possible to assisted individuals during residencies at Les Subs and on site at the Fondation OVE’s SMSIs:

  • Based on the creation of Ikuemän: 4 weeks of residency at the IME, ESATs, and the SESSAD of Faverges, as well as with the ITEP of Albertville.
  • Based on the creation of iNo pasarán!: 4 weeks of residency at the MAS of Montanay.

In partnership with the Fondation OVE / With the support of Interstices, as part of the Culture and Health financing.

Mediation on a daily basis

Regular partnerships with 40 associations and organizations providing integration and support services for individuals living with a disability. We always develop these projects to serve the goals pursued by these partners, to bring audiences and the artists working at Les Subs together.

Knowledge transfer is a key feature of Les Subs’ identity, at the heart of events that punctuate the season. Audiences of all backgrounds, join us!

Les Subs has made a commitment to the association La Cloche to improve the living conditions of homeless individuals, and regularly organizes clothing pick-ups in partnership with Le Vestibus. Charitable associations are regularly invited to our events: Coexister, Urgence Social Rue, Secours Populaire, Tissu Solidaire, Singa, etc.

Careful to promote the autonomy of our audience members and keep price from being an obstacle, Les Subs has created “Pay It Forward Tickets” (“billets suspendus,” available at the reception-ticket office). Since 2017, a Culture for Everyone window has been open every Friday afternoon at the ticket office.

Publics et médiations

Lieu de résidence et de création pour les artistes, Les Subs sont un territoire d’expériences pour tous les publics, au-delà des moments de spectacle. Les Subs s’engagent au quotidien pour offrir une approche sensible et connectée de l’art, dans ses relations avec l’éducation, la citoyenneté, la cohésion sociale et l’hospitalité.

Parce que la curiosité artistique est une aventure qui se cultive dès le plus jeune âge, Les Subs accompagnent les professeurs dans la construction de projets qui permettent à tous de penser et changer le monde d’aujourd’hui, grâce aux rencontres artistiques.

Pour les plus jeunes…

Des projets de proximité

En 2019-2020, Xavier Kim et groupe nuits – Astrid Mayer & Raphaël Billet, interviennent dans 3 classes de collège et 5 classes de CM1/CM2 à Lyon 9e, Lyon 4e, quartiers voisins, ainsi qu’à Vaulx-en-Velin dans le cadre du PTEAC.

…et les plus grands

Avec les collèges, lycées & IME

  • Avec le Lycée Robert Doisneau (Vaulx-en-Velin) ; Les Subs sont le partenaire culturel de l’enseignement de spécialité cirque.
  • Avec le Lycée Saint-Exupéry (Lyon 4e) ; une semaine de résidence lycéenne avec Benjamin Villemagne & Raphaël Gouisset autour de CGU.
  • Avec l’IME Jean-Jacques Rousseau ; un cycle de recherche chorégraphique et sonore autour de la question de la violence, en lien avec le spectacle Today is a beautiful day de Youness Aboulakoul
  • Avec 10 classes de collège dans le cadre des Classes Culturelles et Numériques portées par Erasme, avec Anne-Sophie GRAC autour de son projet Simonetta, afin d’amener les élèves à s’interroger sur l’évolution des standards de beauté à l’heure des réseaux sociaux.

+++ De nombreux projets sont mis en œuvre avec une dizaine de lycées partenaires en lien avec des compagnies en résidence.

  • Formation GACO Arts – IUT LYON 3 / Accueil d’étudiant-e-s autour du projet des Cours de danse minute pendant le festival Le MOI de la danse
  • Suivis de projets étudiants des formations artistiques pré-professionnelles lyonnaises pour accompagner les artistes de demain, dès leurs formations. Les Subs travaillent en étroite collaboration avec l’ENSBA, le CNSMD, la formation préparatoire de l’École de cirque de Lyon et le CN D.

+++ De nombreux partenariats sur mesure avec les établissements d’enseignement supérieur et les associations étudiantes de l’agglomération et de la Région (INSA, EAC, ISCOM, Sciences Po Lyon, Universités de Lyon, Université de Grenoble, GEM…)

Parce que les artistes proposent une interprétation sensible du monde qui nous entoure, les rencontres peuvent constituer un terreau fertile dans ce temps si particulier qu’est celui de la création. Toujours en lien avec les envies de compagnies, Les Subs portent des projets qui permettent cette mise en relation.

Résidences hors les murs avec des Établissements Spécialisés médicaux-sociaux de la Fondation OVE

En 2018/2019, la compagnie du Chaos et Dikie Istorii Company ont créé lors de résidences aux Subs et  in situ dans des ESMS de la Fondation OVE, afin de questionner leurs thématiques de travail au plus proche de personnes accompagnées :

  • Autour de la création d’Ikuemän : 4 semaines de résidences auprès de l’IME, des ESAT et du SESSAD de Faverges, ainsi qu’avec l’ITEP d’Albertville.
  • Autour de la création de iNo pasarán! : 4 semaines de résidence à la MAS de Montanay.

En partenariat avec la Fondation OVE / Avec le soutien d’Interstices, dans le cadre des financements Culture et Santé

La médiation au quotidien

Partenariats réguliers avec une quarantaine de structures associatives, d’insertion, d’accompagnement de personnes en situation de handicap. Nous construisons toujours ces projets sur-mesure, en cohérence avec les objectifs poursuivis par ces partenaires, afin de mettre en relations les publics avec les artistes travaillant dans nos murs.

 

La transmission des savoirs est un axe fort de l’identité des Subs, au cœur des événements qui rythment la saison. Publics de tous les horizons, rejoignez-nous !

Les Subs s’engagent auprès de l’association La Cloche afin d’améliorer les conditions de vie des personnes sans domicile fixe et organisent régulièrement des collectes de vêtements en partenariat avec Le Vestibus. Des associations caritatives sont régulièrement conviées à nos évènements : Coexister, Urgence Social Rue, Secours Populaire, Tissu Solidaire, Singa…

Attentives à favoriser l’autonomie des spectateurs, sans que le prix ne soit un frein, Les Subs ont mis en place des « Billets suspendus » disponibles à l’accueil-billetterie. Depuis 2017, un guichet Culture Pour Tous est ouvert tous les vendredis après-midi à la billetterie.