Premières Nécessités

A Word from Stéphane

At Les SUBS we’re organizing the new artistic season with utopia in mind—a utopia we can attain with thoroughly redesigned creative processes and new roles for the audience. And believe me, we can trust the artists to come up with new formats and new ways of interacting with the public.

 

From September to December 2020, Les SUBS will unfurl its program like a manifesto to reassert, through our actions, the fundamental importance of theater, dance, music, the circus, and digital arts. The artistic activities offered every week throughout Fall 2020 include digital performances, in-apartment theater 2.0, autobiographical circus fiction, participatory projects, choreographic walks, concerts to listen to lying down, and artistic activities in public places—myriad ways to transcend the constraints of the public health crisis while turning the spotlight on its social, political, and aesthetic consequences.

 

The most powerful example is probably the next creation by the artist Yan Duyvendak, which will be presented in November 2020. He began working on VIRUS in 2018 (with a residency at Les SUBS in June and July 2020), collaborating with scientists and game developers to create this participatory show in which the audience must contain the spread of a pandemic. Since the coronavirus erupted in China, this simulation game has taken a turn for the hyperreal and dizzying. “There are times when you think about giving up given the tragic context,” explains Duyvendak. “At others, however, it seems that it might actually help us respond to a pandemic, not just foresee one. VIRUS might be a way for otherwise powerless citizens to take the reins, even if just for fun.” After several months of enforced inactivity, it’s time to laugh, tremble, and take action while counting on theater’s cathartic value, which has been proven since Aristotle’s time.

 

The “Premières Nécessités” (Basic Necessities) program gets its momentum from Les SUBS’ fundamental principles. Let’s return to shared emotions and the world of meaning transmitted irreplaceably by artistic creation while associating audiences that are always more than simple spectators. Let’s work even harder to defend a sensitive and inclusive approach to art and our relationship to exercising citizenship.

 

Together let’s transform the future.

 

 

Stéphane Malfettes,
SUBS director

Premières Nécessités

Édito

Aux SUBS, la reprise des activités artistiques s’organise comme une utopie réalisable avec le désir de reconsidérer de fond en comble les processus créatifs et la place du spectateur. Faisons confiance aux artistes pour inventer de nouveaux formats et de nouvelles modalités d’interactions avec les publics.

De septembre à décembre 2020, les SUBS déroulent un programme-manifeste qui réaffirme en acte l’importance fondamentale du théâtre, de la danse, de la musique, du cirque et des arts numériques. Performances digitales, théâtre en appartement 2.0, autofiction circassienne, projets participatifs, déambulations chorégraphiques, concerts à écouter allongé, interventions dans l’espace public : les rendez-vous artistiques proposés chaque semaine tout au long de l’automne 2020 transcendent les contraintes de la crise sanitaire en mettant en scène ses conséquences sociales, politiques et esthétiques.

L’exemple le plus éloquent est certainement la prochaine création de l’artiste Yan Duyvendak qui sera présentée en novembre 2020. Mis en chantier en 2018 (et en résidence aux SUBS en juin et en juillet 2020), Virus est un spectacle participatif conçu en collaboration avec des scientifiques et des développeurs de jeux dans lequel le public doit endiguer une pandémie. Depuis l’irruption du coronavirus en Chine, ce jeu de simulation a pris une tournure hyperréelle et vertigineuse. « Il y a des moments où l’on songe à renoncer vu le contexte tragique, explique l’artiste. À d’autres moments, il nous apparaît au contraire qu’il puisse revêtir une utilité non plus anticipatoire mais exutoire. Virus pourrait offrir au citoyen impuissant de prendre les rênes – même ludiques. » Après plusieurs mois de passivité, il est temps de rire, frémir et agir en comptant sur la valeur cathartique du théâtre, qui fait ses preuves depuis Aristote.

Ce programme de «Premières Nécessités » prend son élan à partir des fondamentaux des SUBS. Réactivons les affects communs et l’univers de sens que transmet de façon irremplaçable la création artistique en associant des publics qui sont toujours plus que des spectateurs. Redoublons d’efforts pour défendre une approche sensible et inclusive de l’art, dans ses relations avec l’exercice de la citoyenneté.
Ensemble, métamorphosons l’avenir.

 

Stéphane Malfettes,
Directeur des SUBS