Les subsistances

Creative research laboratory - Lyon
Theater / Dance / Circus / Music

Les subsistances

Laboratoire international
de création artistique – Lyon

Archives - Saison 2013 - 2014

Lie like a lion

Yasmeen Godder (Israel / USA)

From 28 January to 1st February 2014

Création  Dance / Music

yasmeen_une_2_romain_etienne_item

Presentation

“I like the idea of working in a place where everything is possible, where the body has no limits,” says Yasmeen Godder. Her dance stretches bodies to the limit in a choreographic art full of humor and depth occasionally bordering on live art. In 2008 she created a piece at Les Subsistances as part of the Valses collective, and her latest piece, See Her Change, created in 2013, is an homage to women that shuns stereotypes.

Scores : Drones & Violin, Drones & Viola

Cast

Choregraphy and performance: Yasmeen Godder
Musicians: Olivier Robin (violin), Ugo Reser (cello), Robin Kirklar (viola)
Music: Nico Muhly
Scores: Drones & Violin, Drones & Viola
Lighting Designer: Omer Sheizaf
Costumes and Props Design: Ilanit Shamia
Mask: Alona Rodeh
Prop Construction: Gili Godiano
Rehearsals Direction: Dalia Chaimsky
Administration and Production: Guy Hugler

With the support of cultural department Embassy of Israel.

Menorah Embleme Israel haute definition

Bibliography

One of Israel’s most politically engaged choreographers, Yasmeen Godder, born in Jerusalem in 1973, handles humor and derision with disarming dexterity. In Storm End Come, created in 2011, she uses trembling bodies to evoke an impending natural disaster while exuding a strange mix of tension and exaltation. To celebrate the Batsheva Dance Company at the end of 2011, Godder presented The Toxic Exotic Disappearance Act at the Suzanne Dellal Center in Tel-Aviv, paying particular attention to the act of transmission. In 2013, her new challenge, Ghost Exercise, examines dance’s intimate sphere—that of the dancer. Like a puzzle of tiny fragments meticulously put together where a missing piece leaves room for projection, Godder constructs a reality somewhere between fiction and abstraction.

She is responsible for numerous creations, such as Hall (2001), Sudden Birds (2002) Two Playful Pink (2003), Strawberry Cream and Gunpowder (2004), I’m Mean, I Am (2006), Singular Sensation (2008) Love Fire (2009), Storm End Come (2011), and more recently See Her Change.

Godder has also created shorter performance pieces, including Under2 (2005) for the Matanicola Company and The Toxic Exotic Disappearance Act (2011) for the Batsheva Dance Company.

Opened in 2007, the Yasmeen Godder Studio is home to her activities and various projects, the process of creation and rehearsal, amateur dance classes, community interactions, and workshops all year long, as well as collaborations with Search Engine and the Centre Contemporain du Spectacle Vivant of Jaffa, founded and directed by her long-time partner and collaborator, Itzik Giuli.

Yasmeen Godder is frequently invited to international performance sites and festivals, such as Lincoln Center in New York, the Kunstenfestival of the arts in Brussels, and the Montpellier Dance festival. She created a piece at Les Subsistances for the Week_End Ça Valse! in 2008.

Around the show

LES 3 AUTRES CRÉATIONS DU FESTIVAL :

Laurent Chetouane
15 Variations autour de l’ouvert

Yuval Pick
loom

Kyle Abraham
Frail


+ WORKSHOP’BRUNCH
Samedi 1er février à 10h30
Atelier de danse ouvert à tous animé par la chorégraphe Yasmeen Godder, suivi d’un brunch.

+ WORKSHOP’PRO
Samedi 25 janvier à 10h
Ateliers de danse réservés aux professionnels.
Informations et réservations auprès du Centre National de la Danse de Lyon (04 72 56 10 70)

Partager

Tarifs

8€ for ererybody

Dates & horaires

Tue 28 January 2014 / 20:30

Wed 29 January 2014 / 20:30

Thu 30 January 2014 / 20:30

Fri 31 January 2014 / 20:30

Sat 1 February 2014 / 19:45

Téléchargement

Feuille de salle

In context of the festival

logo_aire-de-jeu

Les subsistances

Laboratoire international
de création artistique - Lyon
Théâtre / Danse /
Cirque / Musique

Les subsistances

Laboratoire international
de création artistique – Lyon

Archives - Saison 2013 - 2014

Lie like a lion

Yasmeen Godder (Israël / USA)

Du 28 janvier au 1er février 2014

Création  Danse / Musique

yasmeen_une_2_romain_etienne_item

Présentation

« J’aime l’idée de travailler d’un endroit où tout est possible, où le corps ne se limite à rien » dit Yasmeen Godder. Sa danse pousse les corps à l’extrême dans un art chorégraphique plein d’humour et de profondeur parfois proche de la performance. Elle avait créé une pièce en 2008 aux Subsistances dans le cadre du collectif Valse, sa dernière pièce See her change créée en 2013 est un hommage aux femmes, loin de tous les stéréotypes. Yasmeen Godder a fait de cette manière très singulière de défier les attentes par les corps une des marques de fabrique de ses chorégraphies.

Partitions : Drones & Violin, Drones & Viola

Distribution

Chorégraphie et interprétation : Yasmeen Godder
Musiciens : Olivier Robin (violon), Ugo Reser (violoncelle), Robin Kirklar (alto)
Musique : Nico Muhly
Partition : Drones & Violin, Drones & Viola
Création lumière : Omer Sheizaf
Costumes et accessoires : Ilanit Shamia
Masque : Alona Rodeh
Scénographe : Gili Godiano
Dramaturgie et co-direction artistique : Itzik Giuli
Direction des répétitions : Dalia Chaimsky
Administration et production : Guy Hugler

Avec le soutien des services culturels de l’Ambassade d’Israël en France.

Menorah Embleme Israel haute definition

Bibliographie

Née à Jérusalem en 1973, Yasmeen Godder est l’une des chorégraphes israéliennes les plus engagées politiquement, manie l’humour et la dérision avec une dextérité désarmante. Dans Storm End Come, créée en 2011, elle évoque à travers le tremblement des corps l’imminence d’une catastrophe naturelle, tout en diffusant un étrange mélange de tension et d’exaltation. À la fin de l’année 2011, Yasmeen Godder présente en avant-première au Suzanne Dellal Center de Tel-Aviv The Toxic Exotic Disappearance Act pour la célèbre Batsheva Dance Company, dans laquelle elle s’attache particulièrement au geste de la transmission. En 2013, son nouveau défi, Ghost exercise, questionne la part intime de la danse, celle de l’interprète. À l’image d’un puzzle, composé de fragments miniatures méticuleusement emboîtés, mais dont toujours une pièce manquante laisse une voie de projection, la chorégraphie reconstruit un réel qui se réfléchit entre fiction et abstraction.

Elle est à l’origine de nombreuses créations comme Hall (2001), Sudden Birds (2002) Two Playful Pink (2003), Strawberry Cream and Gunpowder (2004), I’m Mean, I Am (2006), Singular Sensation (2008) Love Fire (2009), Storm End Come (2011) et plus récemment See Her Change.

Elle a également créé des performances plus courtes y compris Under2 (2005) pour la Matanicola Company et The Toxic Exotic Disappearance Act (2011) pour la Batsheva Dance Company.

Le Yasmeen Godder Studio, ouvert en 2007, abrite ses activités et différents projets, accueille les processus de création et répétitions, des cours de danse amateurs, des échanges communautaires, des workshop tout au long de l’année et des collaborations avec le Search Engine, Centre Contemporain du Spectacle Vivant à Jaffa, créé et dirigé par son partenaire et collaborateur de longue date Itzik Giuli.

Yasmeen Godder est régulièrement l’invitée de nombreux lieux et festivals internationaux comme le Lincoln Center de New York, le Kunstenfestival des arts de Bruxelles ou le festival Montpellier Danse. Elle a créé une pièce aux Subsistances dans le cadre du Week_End Ça Valse ! en 2008.

Autour du spectacle

LES 3 AUTRES CRÉATIONS DU FESTIVAL :

Laurent Chetouane
15 Variations autour de l’ouvert

Yuval Pick
loom

Kyle Abraham
Frail


+ WORKSHOP’BRUNCH
Samedi 1er février à 10h30
Atelier de danse ouvert à tous animé par la chorégraphe Yasmeen Godder, suivi d’un brunch.

+ WORKSHOP’PRO
Samedi 25 janvier de 10h à 12h
Ateliers de danse réservés aux professionnels.
Informations et réservations auprès du Centre National de la Danse de Lyon (04 72 56 10 70)

Partager

Tarifs

8€ pour tous

Dates & horaires

mar 28 janvier 2014 / 20:30

mer 29 janvier 2014 / 20:30

jeu 30 janvier 2014 / 20:30

ven 31 janvier 2014 / 20:30

sam 1 février 2014 / 19:45

Téléchargement

Feuille de salle

Dans le cadre du festival

logo_aire-de-jeu